Lets Go Son, it’s Time to Get to Work!

Not sure what this is about.....My dad probably seeking revenge on some pesky gofer

So it is Father’s Day already! Wow. Seems like it was just Mother’s Day! Well when I started to think about my father, and how I might dedicate a blog to him, my mind ran blank. I don’t even know if my dad knows what a blog is. One might say that my dad is not the most technologically friendly guy. He usually just spats off math problems in his head while I reach for my cell phone with its convenient calculator. But when I really started to give it some thought, I tried to think of one word that could best describe my dad; and the answer came quick and clear. “Work“.

My dad and brothers up to something

Allow me to explain. I grew up on a farm in south-east Gilbert, Arizona (which was at one point Chandler, or some other city). My dad grew up on a farm in Mesa, Arizona. And, if I’m not mistaken, his dad grew up on a farm as well. On a farm, work is a key ingredient. I’m sure that there are a lot of other professions out there that work hard as well, but in my book, farming takes the cake.

I remember growing up working. Now I wont lie to anyone, I did not enjoy spending my summer (the few precious months of no school and home work) waking up at 4:30AM to go bail hay in the early morning. Sometimes, I didn’t even enjoy going out in the middle of the afternoon in 120 degree weather to go spray weeds. Occasionally, I didn’t like staying up all night irrigating and getting bit by mosquitoes. But my dad always had us kids do these things. Himself, of course, always setting the best example. I would bet my dad against any one on a work contest. Sure, he might be getting old and rickety….. but I would still put my money on him. He is also great at getting the job done right. I don’t think I could count on both hands the amount of times he has had me and my brothers re-do a job because it wasn’t done right. Take pride in your work. Spending hours spraying weeds paid off; our farm was always much cleaner than other farms, though my mom may disagree :). 
 
Looking back I sure am happy that my dad was a slave driver(he wasn’t really though)! I wouldn’t trade my experience growing up on a farm for anything! I learned so many skills and attributes there. Even though I did complain (I’m sure a lot more than I should’ve), I am eternally grateful for that experience now. My dad has taught me the principle of work better than anyone I know. Even though I still have some room to grow. When I think of a hard worker I will always think of my dad. So with that, Happy Father’s Day Dad! 😉  

 
 
Leave a comment

Filed under Various

Leave a Reply

